Broken Bella Donna











{March 7, 2012}   Tempting fate.

Gosh it’s chilly today.

So I’m feeling positive and good, and in the time honoured fashion of being glass half FULL, I’m gonna blog about it. Recent history states that this will inevitably give me a shit run very soon and cause my spazz attacks to come back, but I’m just going to risk it. I don’t want to be a Negative Ninny. I will laugh in the face of danger! Muah ha haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

*ahem*

Lovin’ this time of year in the garden. Eating home grown produce, hoarding what we can and preserving the rest. I’m enjoying that last aspect especially, as it makes me feel very Earth Mother. I really do enjoy knowing that we are living off the land where we can, and independent of all the chemicals and bullshit – and saving so much money in the process. I also enjoy the challenge of trying to find new recipes to use up some of the excess produce that can’t be stored or sold. It helps that I just enjoy cooking.

Apart from the fact it’s so sodding COLD atm, being outside is just lovely. Watching the last of the produce ripen, knowing that the season is drawing to a close at work (less work more money!)… lovely. Days getting colder and life creeping closer to one of my spazz inducing situations – not so lovely.

Creeping around the fringes of progress with The Big Project. Perhaps by next time I blog…. I’ll have gotten somewhere.

Oh, and another ‘job’ has arrived on the scene, just in time. Some consistent earnings – not much, but it adds up over the year 🙂

Can I join you for a moment of Earth Motherliness? I have been in the process of gradually changing our cleaning products from shop-bought chemicals to more eco-friendly (not to mention inexpensive) options, that include items that people generally have around the house including a vegetable oil/vinegar furniture polish, vinegar/water kitchen cleaner and bicarb/vinegar floor cleaner. I’m particularly happy with the floor cleaner … not only does it lift off so much more of the dirt and grease on the kitchen tiles than the commercial cleaners do, but it leaves the kitchen smelling like fish and chips!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
