Broken Bella Donna











{October 30, 2014}   Run, Forrest

I have a new obsession. Lets see how long this one lasts for.

For as long as I can remember I have wanted to be One Of Those People That Run. I’ve admired and envied runners, people who can just throw on their sneakers and hit the pavement. These sort of people run when they need to ‘clear their head’, they run off anxiety and stress, they run and run and run. And they are fit too. What’s not to envy?

I’ve always been raised being told our family ‘can’t run’. We just CAN’T. And women really shouldn’t. No explanations just that automatic excuse, that justification that it is somehow beyond our control.

So, four days ago I started to run. It’s more walking than running at the present, and it’s back and forth over a reasonably short distance to placate those who need placating but it is a start. And already I feel different. I feel clearer. I feel stronger? And I’m already thinking about it when I’m not doing it… that slap slap slap on the tarmac… how I can better my methods… planning my days around it.

Oh how I so want to be one of those people.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
